Erika’s POV: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

11408650

Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Series: Mara Dyer #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Format: Published September 27th 2011 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Source: Own copy; bought in Fully Booked

“There,” he said as he finished tying the laces on my left shoe. “Now you won’t fall.”

Too late.

The Summary:

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can. 

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

My Thoughts:

Everything about this book screams Erika. I love anything weird, scary, extremely attractive guys, so yes, this book is too perfect for me. The moment I started reading it, I couldn’t put it down. I started reading this book trusting myself but lo and behold not even myself I could trust… Shocking factor every moment.

The book starts with Mara and her friends playing with an Ouija board. I’ve always wanted to play with an Ouija board (that is how much of a freak I am) so I was intrigued from page one. Then the chapter ends with…

“Six months later, they were both dead.”

BOOYEAH. My heart started being all freaked out and I loved it.

“Have dinner with me this weekend,” he said out of nowhere.

I almost chocked. “Are you asking me out?”

Because of what Mara experienced, she got Post Trauma Syndrome Disorder. To try to forget the past she moves to a new school and meets the forever beautiful, wonderful, marry me please Noah Shaw. The moment he was introduced, I was already swooning. He rocks the just woke up look. But when I do it, I look like shit. Some people even try to look like they just woke up but for him its all natural. He has a British accent people. I just died. Hot guys + hot accents will be the end of me. MY GOD. He’s the cool dude everyone wants to be around. I want to be around him 24/7. He’s smart and his memory is spot on. He has a perfect GPA and he doesn’t even bring ANYTHING to school. No notebooks, papers, pen just his handsome self. He’s rich. And when I say rich, I mean R I C H. The list goes on…

I narrowed my eyes at him. “You’re evil.”

In response, Noah smiled, and raised his finger to gently tap the tip of my nose.

“And you’re mine,” he said, then walked away.

Mara goes to a new school and the it guy likes her so obviously she will be the target. (jealous bitches) But they will do something that will backfire so bad and I can’t wait for you guys to read it! It made me put out my tongue and laugh at them. You don’t mess with Mara people.

“You want me,” Noah said simply, definitively. “Don’t lie to me. I can hear it.”

“Irrelevant,” I breathed.

“No, it isn’t irrelevant. You want me as much as I want you. And all I want is you.”

Of course at first Mara denies him (whatever Mara we all know you’re going to give in because any human being with a heart will fall for him so stop denying) but he doesn’t give up. He tries to pursue her and they have this scene where they pretend to be together. *dies* I’m not exaggerating when every time he does something sweet (which is A LOT), I would look at the heavens and say, “Lord, why are you doing this to me?” No joke.

Mara is too unpredictable. As I was reading, I didn’t know what was true or not. I would think its true and I’d be like “OMG!” or “What the F?” but then it turns out not true. Seriously? I can’t even trust my own judgment anymore. When she looks at the mirror, she sees other people. FREAKY. If you get scared easily, I suggest not to read this at night cause you will be freaked out. Every time I read, my heart starts to race and then I’m confused. She would do/see things and claim that it never happened. What is real? I don’t know.

Mara’s brother is the best. If I had a big brother, I would want it to be Daniel. He’s always there for Mara and you can just feel how much he loves her. He just wants to protect her which is awesome. He always has Mara’s back. Mara is lucky to have a brother like him. To top it all off, he’s Team Noah! *fist bump*

“Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real.”

Then the moment comes that they sort of explain stuff and I’m like “WHAAAAAAAAAAAAT? How is that even possible?” and then the ending… double WHAAAAAAAAT?! Noah is the best. Seriously, one conclusion. I love you, Noah Shaw. I want to have your babies. Read this book now. Though I don’t want to share Noah, I want you guys to meet him and love him too!!!

Happy reading!!!

image

6 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Josephine says:

    I love how this review mainly consisted of a total gush of your love for Noah Shaw! I’m scared of reading this book because of the horror factor in it, but YOU MAKE ME WANT TO READ IT FOR NOAH. I want to read this book solely to fall in love with Noah!! British accent?! Gosh darn, I’m in heaven. You have no idea how many times a fictional male character that is particularly swoony as made me go “Lord, why do you do this to me!”. 😄
    Amazing review, I loved every second of it. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thank you so much ❤ If you saw my first draft, it just said, "I love Noah Shaw. I want to marry Noah Shaw. I want to have his babies. I want to grow old with him. I never want him to stop talking with his British accent. And if it's still not obvious, I repeat. I want to have his babies." I honestly think this review is waaaaaaaay better but I had to talk about the plot even a little right? lol Believe me it won't be that scary with Noah by your side 😉 IT WILL BE WORTH IT! Honestly Josie, I think we may have the swoonyness overload disorder. It's pretty contagious…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly @ Dancing Through the Pages says:

    I liked this one too but I personally enjoy the second book the most. You learn a lot about Noah Shaw, who I admittedly don’t like as much as you (sorry but I like Daniel a lot more), but find really interesting. I do like the horror aspect a lot though! When I was reading I’d put it down and the mood from the book would make me feel like something was about to come out and jump me. Like scary evil Jude.

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      I TOTALLY AGREEE WITH THE SCARY. lol. I actually feel and hear my heart beating twice as fast as usual when I read this!!! I also totally agree with the second book being the best. I absolutely adored everything that came out of Noah’s mouth there! ❤ Daniel has to be one of the best brothers in fiction ever! Though, I cried at what Daniel said on the third book…. or wait was it the second? No need to apologize. As long as you like Noah, good enough for me. :)) I'm definitely a die hard Noah fangirl. AND I I'M HAPPY CAUSE I GET MORE NOAH!!! hahahahaha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

