Erika’s POV: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

17234658

Title: A Thousand Pieces of You

Author: Claudia Gray

Series:  Firebird #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Format: Published November 4th 2014 by Harper Teen

Source: Own copy; bought in National Bookstore

We’ll find each other, I tell myself as he disappears. We always do.”

The Summary:

Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

My Thoughts:

“The most powerful presence in the room is his absence.”

I have to begin by saying how gorgeous the book cover is! It is by far my favorite cover. It’s just so beautiful. Believe me when I say that in this case, looks are not deceiving. This book is beautiful inside and out.

From the concept itself, dimension travelling, it got me interested instantly. It’s just so cool to think that there are other Erika’s in the world. So awesome right? (or maybe not so awesome. lol)

“Mathematical parallels. It’s plausible to hypothesize that these patterns will be reflected in events and people in each dimension. That people who have met in one quantum reality will be likely to meet in another. Certain things that happen will happen over and over, in different ways, but more often than you could explain by chance alone.”

“In other words,” I said, “you’re trying to prove the existence of fate.”

Having genius Physicist’s as parents is crazy. Being surrounded by those kind of people will drive me mad, speaking in terms I don’t understand, it will feel like I’m in school 24/7. No please. I’d be like, “Science leave me alone. I need space.” I don’t know how Marguerite handles it. Being an artist and all but she has some really cool art which Paul seems to like….

“I can hardly bear to look at him; it’s like staring into the brightness and warmth of the sun, knowing that it’s burning you while understanding that it makes your whole life possible.”

This book starts with Marguerite already time travelling and her first words are, “Kill Paul Markov.” That is some kind of hate to the highest level. I’m like who the hell is Paul Markov?

Marguerite begins to unravel the story of Paul Markov. And Oh, Boy, I wish she didn’t. The moment she said how kind, smart, gentle Paul is. I couldn’t believe that he could kill. NOOOOOOO WAY! The guy who was so worried when you almost got hurt like legit I’d kill anyone who hurt you kind of worried. It’s impossible he could kill. No way. NO. NO. NO. I don’t believe it. Nope. So, of course, Marguerite starts to doubt too but because Theo keeps convincing her he’s evil. (No Theo, he’s not evil. Stop saying that.) She starts to become confused. (which is unnecessary in my opinion)

Okay, so Theo is this guy who does everything to keep Marguerite safe. I admit that he gives me feels as well especially when Claudia said he looks like Robert Downey Jr.’s younger days, I kind of died. I love Robert even if he’s old so imagine him young. Ugh, hottie so Theo = Robert young. Gosh. But I’m just so mad that he keeps forcing that Paul is evil, stop it! And for some reason my heart pulls to Paul, even though he might be the killer (which for the nth time I believe in my heart he’s not) he’s just too perfect.

“I would love you in any shape, in any world, with any past. Never doubt that.”

I meet a piece of Paul that makes me want to lay down and never wake up. Goodbye world. When you guys meet Lieutenant Markov, you WILL swoon. He calls Marguerite, “My Lady.” My freaking lady. Yes Lieutenant, you can call me My Lady every time, every day, every minute, every second. He would give his life for her. SWOON. SWOON. SWOON. You’ve been warned.

“I meant it when I said I didn’t believe in love at first sight. It takes time to really, truly fall for someone. Yet I believe in a moment. A moment when you glimpse the truth within someone, and they glimpse the truth within you. In that moment, you don’t belong to yourself any longer, not completely. Part of you belongs to him; part of him belongs to you. After that, you can’t take it back, no matter how much you want to, no matter how hard you try.”

The concept of dimension travelling is really cool. You’ll get to be in so many places, meet so many pieces of Marguerite, Theo, PAUL, PAUL, PAUL. There will be surprises in stored you’ll be like. “WHAT THE F***?” so just believe in your gut feel. Such a beautiful book with a beautiful cover. I need the second book please.

Happy reading!!!

image

12 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

    • partnersinbooks says:

      I know how that feels. I have so many tbr books. I feel really guilty not reading them actually… :((
      You definitely should though! Especially since the sequel is about to come out! You won’t have to wait soooo long 🙂

      Like

  1. sublimereads says:

    I just want to say; I’M IN LOVE WITH THIS COVER, IT’S GORGEOUS. Buuuuut the book didn’t work out so well with me. I was just like so CONFLICTED with the Paul thing… like him being everywhere and that’s the entire point but I just can’t. I feel like it’s unfortunate that I didn’t like it more though haha. I was like if I wrote a book and this book cover was mine I would be instantly like YASSS. The best part is when you take the book jacket off and the actual colour of the book is the nicest purple ever. Lol I’m fangirling too much about the cover. I should stop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      I KNOW RIGHT! This book is honestly an instant buy for me because of the gorgeousness of the cover. I dubbed it the prettiest cover ever!!!!
      Did you find the concept kind of confusing? Like why are there so many Pauls? All so different! lol I find this concept very intriguing actually!
      It’s okay you didn’t like it as much. There are SO MANY other books to love!!!!! 😀
      Nope, you don’t need to stop. We can seriously talk about this cover ALL DAY. I’ll be fine with that! ❤

      Like

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Oh, I actually researched that! When you press, “ADD MEDIA” when you draft a post you upload a file right? and then choose a file from your “Media Library” And then on the right side of your media library you will see “attachment details” and on the bottom “attachment display settings” and then you just choose the alignment if you want the image on the right, left or center! That should do the trick. 🙂 Hope I explained this well! Tell me when you get it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

