Erika’s POV: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

18736678

Title: Wonder

Author: RJ Palacio

Series: Wonder #1

Genre: YA, Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary

Format: Published January 1st 2013 by Alfred A. Knopf

Source: Own copy, bought in Barnes and Noble

“Sometimes you don’t have to mean to hurt someone to hurt someone.”

My Summary:

August (Auggie) Pullman has wanted nothing but to be normal but with a facial deformity that causes everyone to stare at him everywhere he goes, ordinary is out of the question.

He’s never been in a mainstream school and would never want to go until his parents tell him otherwise.

Being the new kid in school is challenge enough but with his extraordinary face, will he be able to show them that despite his face his just like everybody else?

My Thoughts:

I’ve seen this book a year ago and I’ve always been interested in reading it for 2 reasons: First, I like topics regarding anomalies, I know it’s weird but it’s just really interesting for me. Second, The cover really attracted me and I like kids. Okay, so that’s like 3 reasons. Ooopppsss. But I always end up buying other books first until recently I bought it. It’s a life changer guys.

“There are more good people on this earth than bad people, and the good people watch out for each other and take care of each other.”

From the first chapter, I was already hooked. When Auggie explained that he wasn’t ordinary, I felt my heart pang. I could just feel how much he wanted to be ordinary but he just can’t. His words, feelings, stories, actions are just all inspiring really.

It’s not just Auggie’s point of view the book tackles but also the people closest to Auggie. With these different point of views, I was able to understand how others see him. My favorite has to be Via’s (his older sister) because I can relate to her somehow. I could see how much she really loves him. But it’s not just her love but Auggie’s whole family’s love for him that’s overflowing which is why I think he’s able to give love to others too.

Via isn’t perfect. She makes mistakes too. But nevertheless, you could never deny the fact that she will always love Auggie no matter what. In a way, I feel sad for Via cause all the attention always goes to Auggie and it seems that she has to fend for herself. I would just suddenly feel the urge to cry when I read her POV. (This is a feat for me cause I’m not a cryer.) She’s a very strong woman and I’m glad she has… *wink* and her Grandma.

Auggie’s parents are the loveliest people ever. All of Via and Auggie’s friends like to go to their house because they can feel the love. It’s in the air. I love households like that. My sisters, my mom and I are really close and I can relate to this overflowing love that their parent’s give them cause I’m a full tank as well.

In his new school, he starts making friends. Summer is just this cute little girl who befriends Auggie. She’s amazing. At such a young age, I could say that she’ll grow up to be this wonderful & beautiful human being.

Jack Will. He was nice to Auggie and they started talking all the time which lead to them being best friends. Something happens that broke my heart into a kajillion pieces… but then he tells his part of the story that seemed to mend my broken heart.

“When given the choice between being right or being kind. Choose kind.”

Mr Browne. He’s this genius of an English teacher. Love him and his precepts! He speaks the truth. You guys will love him too!

Seriously, guys, this is the book I recommend everyone to read. I mean EVERY single human being in the world. The heart of this book is for us to be kind. You might say you already know that. It’s pretty obvious. But the important thing in this book is that we are reminded of it. There are so many things happening in our lives that we simply forget the most important thing… Who we are— what kind of people we are.

“It’s what you’ve done with your time, how you’ve chosen to spend your days, and whom you have touched this year. That, to me, is the greatest measure of success.”

At the end of the day, how you treat people is what really matters. The genre of Childrens might scare you off but give this book a chance. This is a wonderful book and yes, you should read this. Auggie has definitely left imprints on my heart. The ending of this book is just heart warming so prepare to have tissues when you read this!

“Kinder than is necessary. Because it’s not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.”

Highly recommended!

Happy reading!!!

image

Leave a Reply

