Point-Of-Two: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

17167166

Title: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass #2

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Format: Published August 27th 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Source: Own copy; bought in Fully Booked

“She’d learned the only skills that could keep her safe. To escape death, she’d become death.”

The Summary:

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Our Thoughts:

“And when he opened his eyes, he let her go.”

Miedjel: Crown of Midnight! I read this book instantly after I read Throne of Glass cause like…duh, I needed more of Celaena! This book was building the climax. You just know that something big is about to happen. For example in scary movies where we’re at the edge of our seats cause we know this stupid girl who’s heard something on the other side of the door would open it and just fall into her doom. That’s exactly how I felt!

“But the next time you do anything like this, I am going to throw you in the dugeons.”

“For killing him?”

“For scaring the hell out of me!”

Erika: I love how this book starts with Celaena holding a decapitated head and being like “Here.” And dropping it in front of the King but that’s not all folks. She also had another treat. A HAND. Yup, badassery 2.0.

giphy (1)

Miedjel: One thing in this series that I love is that it’s not a big of a deal for me who she ends up with because when I read this series, I’m just really focusing on Celeana. So when things got a little steamy with Chaol and Celaena, I didn’t really mind. It’s not like Chaol is an ugly guy sooooo. But then don’t get me wrong every time I read I still have a ship in mind.

“I know you can look after yourself. But I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.”

Erika: Yeah, I get it Miedjel. Celaena doesn’t need a man to make it happen but still. I WANT A MAN! IT IS A HUGE DEAL FOR ME WHO SHE ENDS UP WITH! At first, Chaol is STILL denying/resisting. Come on, dude, the indenial is getting really painful to watch so please just go for it (or not)! Obviously, Celaena and Chaol are the star in this book. I’m Team Dorian right? I know I am but my backstabbing romance loving heart is confusing me. My conviction towards Dorian is incomparable but then Chaol says things to Celaena that’s *kind* of changing my mind! Stop being stoically romantic Chaol. Stop it or else. 

“Do you want me to fight for you? Is that it?”

Dorian though. I feel so bad for my baby. It’s so obvious that he still and will forever love Celaena but he can’t do anything so he just tries to tell his heart that he doesn’t love her anymore. But the thing is, you can’t tell your heart to stop loving someone right? Don’t worry baby, I’m here for you. Come to mama.

giphy (2)

Eventually, of course, the ship that is Chaol and Celaena sails and let me tell you. Celaena is one happy girl. She’s receiving the goods. EVERYWHERE. I felt kind of shocked at her reaction though. I get the seizing the day because of what happened with Sam but damn giirl. You’re intense. 

giphy (3)

But then what I found kind of questionable is her instant hate towards Chaol. I know what he did was wrong. I was screaming at him not to keep secrets from Celaena but noooooo he doesn’t listen! So from the loving everywhere and anywhere, she suddenly hates him with a fury like intense hate. Is it really possible to instantly hate someone you used to love? Fine, maybe angry, extremely disappointed but hate? Too extreme. 

Miedjel: I don’t agree with you on this one, Erika. Celaena’s reaction was perfectly understandable and well deserved. In this book, we get to see more of Chaol, Nehemiah and some revelations about Dorian. You get to really see Chaol’s character and how he is. He’s sweet and extremely adorable!

Erika: You know what I disagree with? You, Miedjel!

giphy (4)

I feel like every time I say a not so good thing about this series, Miedjel is ready to stab me. 

Miedjel: *takes sword out* What? Nooooooooo! *puts sword back*

Erika: Okay, Nehemia. Seriously, she just keeps getting cooler and cooler. She is the kind of best friend you would wish for! How she was in the first book, always protecting Celaena, it still hasn’t changed. But something did change and it’s depressing and shocking. I honestly didn’t think it would happen. I wholly believe that it should not have happened but I get why it happened. I guess it had to happen so the other things will be set in motion. *vagueness at it’s finest* But I’m still extremely sad.

giphy (7)

Miedjel: Nehemiah, the girl who should win the world’s greatest best friend. Really this girl should have her own song and it should just be about how awesome she is. I won’t spoil you but I will warn you that something huge will happen concerning Nehemiah. That’s all I’m saying. High five Erika! We’re good at being vague.

“Some things you hear with your ears. Others, you hear with your heart.”

Erika: Fleetfoot! He is the best dog ever. I found him so cute trying to be all fierce and protecting Celaena. He was all like “roar” and I was all like “awww” My reaction was very inappropriate given that they were battling this evil spirit kind of thing but I couldn’t help it. I want a dog like Fleetfoot! I remembered how Celaena protected him and he’s from Dorian. He is precious to me. 

“Can I ask why you decided to join me for dinner?”

“Because I have nowhere else to go.”

“Then you will always have a place here.”

Speaking of Dorian, the thing I found out about him made me extremely happy. It just justified that Celaena and him are perfect for each other given the heart stopping thing I also found out about Celaena at the end of the book! My reactions: “OMG” “WHAT” “YAAAAS” Believe me when I say that Dorian and Celaena are perfect!!!

Miedjel: Now Dorian, he has a secret that even he doesn’t know about and you’ll find out all about it in this book. I was also shocked when I found out and extremely happy. At least, we agree on something Erika!

Erika: Finally!!! I’m safe.

giphy (6)

Miedjel: I still haven’t talked about Celaena though so here I go. Celeana is already fierce as we have established in our first review but in this book Sarah showed us that apparently Celaena can get even fiercer. I didn’t know that there was another level of fierceness but I’m not complaining. You will see Celaena at her element in this book because she is finally the Kings’ Champion!!!

“Enough! We have enough enemies as it is! There are worse things out there to face.”

“No, there aren’t,” she said.

“Because I’m here now.”

This book is just plain amazing. The plots amazing. The characters are amazing. The covers are amazing. So just read it!!!

“I’ll come back for you.”

Erika: This book ends with hope but the not so good part about it is she gives hope for both the ships! Seriously, Celaena! Is it that hard to choose? Yes, it is. I just answered my own question but still. My ship will rise. It will rise. 

giphy (5)

Happy reading!!!

Erika’s rating:

image

Miedjel’s rating:

image

17 thoughts on “Point-Of-Two: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

    Seriously, ladies, I love your reviews! They make me laugh so much and I don’t know, they build anticipation. I’m sitting here reading and I can’t help but be excited about what’s going to be said next haha. I read CoM a while back but I’m currently rereading it now and ugh it’s driving me crazy.

    I agree with Miedjel about who ends up with Celaena. Well, sometimes haha. Sometimes I don’t care as long as she’s happy but sometimes it’s all I care about because Team Dorian, all the way! Haha! Even with all the Chaol moments in this book, I couldn’t be wavered. There’s not enough words in the english dictionary to describe how much Chaol and sometimes Celaena bothered me in this book lol I still loved it though. It drew out so many emotions from me.

    As for Nehemia, I was so sad with what happened to her. It was necessary I think but it still hurt. She was such a great friend and for Celaena to lose her friend that way is just too painful. She’s got Fleetfoot though haha. Have you ladies read The Assassin’s Blade? I think that the novellas helped me understand Celaena’s anger towards Chaol. Even putting aside my immense dislike for Chaol, I think Celaena’s anger and hate for him was justified.

    I want to end my comment with Dorian because reasons lol. Erika, I agree with everything you said! Knowing what happens in Heir of Fire, CoM made me really emotional haha. I got teary-eyed so many times. Dorian’s story arc breaks my heart so much and I hated how alone he was in this book. That’s what angered me so much about Chaol and Celaena, it’s one thing starting a relationship but another thing to ostracize someone they said they cared about. While Dorian felt no ill will about Celaena going to him after the thing with Nehemia, I felt mad. Now that she has no one, she decides that she’ll go back to Dorian? He deserves better than that in my opinion. I absolutely love Dor’s POV, he’s so sweet and loyal. I love how he saw how ignorant he was about Nehemiah’s cause in Calaculla and actually defied his father to make a change. He’d be such a great king! Okay, okay. I’ll stop talking now haha. Sorry for the extremely long comment xD I just have so many feels

    I also wanted to ask! Are you girls Filipinos?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thank you so much, Anjie ❤ I know right. I honestly seriously care about who she ends up with. YES, a fellow Dorian shipper. They are meant Anjie they are (we will not stand for anything otherwise)
      Why is it that you really don't like Chaol? I mean I'm Dorian but Chaol did creep into my heart a little lol
      I'm currently reading Assassin's actually but Miedjel has read them all. She was like a Sarah J Maas pusher. She convinced me to read this and she told me to read Assassins first before Heir. She is my Sarah Master. But she did tell me that Heir of Fire will blow my mind. It is so amazing so I'm very looking forward to it.
      You're right about Celaena suddenly going back to Dorian just because she was mad at Chaol. I didn't think of it that way. And yes, Dorian deserves better. He is seriously so kind and I can't wait for him to be King and for a certain someone to become his Queen! YESSSS!
      WE LOVE COMMENTS WHERE YOU EXPRESS HOW YOU FEEL! So don't say sorry! It is the best being able to talk about this stuff. It's important.
      Yes, we are! Are you? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

        I love seeing more Dorian shippers. He barely gets love haha. Ahhh so many reasons for me to not like Chaol (and some might be pretty harsh but its more solidified in HoF). I initially liked him in Throne of Glass, he was a great friend, protector, captain of the guard and all. He was still too boring for me though, never joked around and I love that in a person. When CoM came around, my previous feelings for him completely dropped.

        (1) He spent a lot of his time jealous over the men who interact with Celaena, sometimes coming off as being possessive of her (I read the quotes of it someone put up but don’t remember the pages).
        (2) He worries about her (which is nice) but sometimes it goes too far for me where he doesn’t trust Celaena’s abilities and sometimes demeaning.
        (3) He let his relationship with Dorian fall through because of a girl, granted he loved her, but this isn’t some random guy, it’s your best friend who had your back when his father disowned him from Anielle, Dor supported Chaol when he wanted to be captain of the guard. Then he’ll say his loyalty lies with Dorian first but then acts totally different. He didn’t even say thanks to Dorian for giving him an Asterion horse for his birthday and didn’t bother spending time with him either — Celaena just took his time without asking Dorian and Chaol was okay with it.
        (4) Along with point 4, he dated the girl his best friend loved and he knew how Dorian felt and he saw the other people saw how Dorian felt for Celaena. I wasn’t totally asking Chaol to not have a relationship with Celaena but at least be up front and honest to Dorian about it.
        (5) Even though he says Dorian is his best friend, he doesn’t trust him at all. It’s demeaning how little he thinks of Dorian actually. He doesn’t think Dorian can stand up for himself of protect himself. Even though it wasn’t his secret to tell (I understand), he didn’t think Dorian would be loyal to Celaena about the whole Fae thing — again not knowing his best friend’s true character.
        (6) He didn’t trust Celaena enough to tell her about the threats against Nehemia, fully knowing that Celaena would’ve been capable of disarming that threat and how much Celaena loves Nehemia.
        (7) This one is tricky — he still follows the orders of a king that he knows to be a tyrant and cruel. I understand he’s captain of the guard but even Dorian had been finding ways to defy his father during council meetings about Calculla efforts
        (8) After Nehemiah’s death, he didn’t feel guilt about her death only that it resulted in the loss of Celaena. Even Dorian cried and mourned Nehemiah’s death and felt that empty void of Nehemiah’s presence. Chaol, while not having a direct hand in Nehemiah’s hand, felt not remorse for the death of his girlfriend’s best friend. Yet he was full of remorse when he killed Cain in ToG.
        (9) How jealous and angry he was that Celaena was spending time with Dorian after Nehemia’s death. It’s one thing to be jealous because yeah, that sucks but don’t be angry because Dorian’s there, helping her grieve and mourn.
        (10) He was extremely repulsed of Celaena after finding out about her Fae origins, didn’t even want to touch her, didn’t want to help her even though she was bleeding, bruised, cut up, and pale from the power she had just exerted to save him. I think page 382, in Dor’s POV he said Chaol literally just dropped her and dragged her and never bothered to help her up.
        (11) He sends her to Wendlyn to “protect” her from the king. He was worried about Celaena rising up with Terrasen to take back her (rightfully owned) lands. Plus, why would she need protecting? She’s kept it well hidden for such a long time. It wouldn’t really come out unless he brought it to the king, since he’s the only one who knows. But fine I digress about that part. What my main problem is that he took away her right to make a decision about her own life. He didn’t talk to her about it because he knew she didn’t want that. How are you going to make a decision about someone else’s life and not even consult them about it? He doesn’t know everything, he doesn’t know about what Celaena needs to do. He doesn’t know that Dorian needed Celaena to help him with his magic.
        So that’s just my list of why I don’t like him up to CoM since you haven’t read HoF, I have more things I don’t like about him. I know you said not to apologize but this comment was extremely longer than the previous so I’m still sorry haha.

        I’m so glad that Miedjel pushed you to read it haha I hope you both read A Court of Thorns and Roses by her! It’s just as good 😀

        I’m so excited for you to read Heir of Fire! It’s so good and heartbreaking, so get ready for that haha. And yes! I’m Filipino, too! I’m so glad to meet more book blogging Filipinos!

        Like

      • partnersinbooks says:

        I love how your so detailed with your reasons. I’m not really good with remembering super specific things about books.
        Okay, I have to admit this list is too accurate for my life. All the reasons I taught off and so much more. You’re scaring me though a longer list in HOF lol but it did bother me so much how he acted after he found out about the Fae origin. Yeah, he didn’t want to touch her it was too much!!!
        I didn’t know there were little Dorian shippers lol. We should get more members cause honestly he’s such a sweetheart and is so honest. ❤
        I'm almost done with Assassins. And I'm getting so effin scared for the inevitable. I'm seriously so in love with Sam (and I have to admit among ToF, CoM and Assassin's Blade, Assassin's is my fav!) I DON'T WANT WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN HAPPEN. I'm already freaking out before it even happens. It's scaring the shit out of me. I love Sam so much, Anjie I cry. HUHUHUHUH. I CANT HANDLE THE FEELS… So after this on to HoF!
        Wait, do you attend book signings?! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

        Haha thanks! I’m not good at remembering either but I just reread it and this time I took notes and flagged pages because I know I’ll need information on the details and all for future books haha.
        Hahah! Well I hope you enjoy HoF when you get to it! I’m so excited for QoS, despite the spoilers I’ve already seen haha.
        YES! We need more Dorian shippers or just lovers. There’s a lot of Dorian hate. I don’t understand?!? He’s like amazing, I’ve seen spoiled prince brat, undeveloped character, non-complex, annoying, coward, and I’m like what? Did they get a different copy from us haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

        Yes! Someone put up a very spoilery review of QoS and raised hell with it lol. Then people got early copies and have been live tweeting/reading it and putting up spoilers. I’ve seen so many that I feel like I’ve read the book already but I don’t mind too much. I have nothing against spoilers but people shouldn’t put them up for people that do get bothered by it. Give it at least a week or two after the release date, not before it’s even released. Yeah! Poor Dorian xD that’s okay. We’ll take care of him and protect him from all his haters.

        Liked by 1 person

      • partnersinbooks says:

        OMG. Are you kidding?! You’ve seen spoilers. I hate spoilers and I’m so happy I’ve avoided them like the plague. It’s funny how when I see even the word Queen I would scroll down really fast. It’s just really hilarious. :))
        Yup, we will be Dorian’s Keeper ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine says:

    Another fabulous review, courtesy of Erika and Meidjel! Crown of Midnight is spectacular! To be completely honest here, I’m a total Chaolaena fan. I believe their ship will sail! BUT I can’t deny the fact that Dorian and Celaena we just so perfect at the end of Crown of Midnight! I can’t wait to see who she ends up with to be honest.
    Fleetfoot is a cutest little puppy, awh! I love him.
    Great review girls! ❤ xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Forever thank you Josie! I know I couldn’t help but ship Chaol and I was a hardcore Dorian shipper. Chaol and Celaena moments were definitely more intense. I can’t wait too! Miedjel tells me that Heir is ever more intense. I’m currently reading Assassins and then Heir. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Glad you enjoyed our review, Fia! I know right but as of now I honestly don’t know who she’ll end up with. It’s all really confusing at the moment. And I can’t wait to read Heir of Fire. Miedjel told me that it would even be more intense. Thank you so much ❤

      Like

  3. Melanie Barbosa says:

    So far Crown Of Midnight is my favorite. I love Chaol. And that ending was so beautiful yet heartbreaking. I don’t care if Celaena ends alone, but if she ends with someone I want it to be Chaol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

