Erika’s POV: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

12294652

Title: My Life Next Door

Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick

Series: Standalone

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary

Format: Published June 13th 2013 by Speak

Source: Own copy; bought in Power Books

“You have to kiss me,” I find myself saying.

“Yeah.” He leans closer. “I do.”

The Summary:

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

My Thoughts: 

“The Garretts were my bedtime story, long before I ever thought I’d be part of the story myself.”

Samantha Reed. Basically, the “Perfect Girl.” She gets everything she wants but what I love most about Samantha is that she doesn’t take anything for granted. Every summer, she has so many jobs which she doesn’t complain about. She doesn’t just slack off because she knows they’re rich.

I have to tell you guys about this one scene in the book. So Sam hears the doorbell ring, she answers it and then when she opens the door.. SURPRISE! Her Mom is making out with a guy she’s never met. I have no issue with older people making out but when Sam came out, they didn’t even stop. I felt like shouting “Don’t you guys need to breath or something?!” After kissing her Mom goes, “Sorry Samantha, I didn’t see you there.”

giphy (22)

HELLO! Samantha who opened the door and was standing there for so long!!! The guy was Clay. He is “helping” Grace win the election. If I was Sam I would have said, “I didn’t know my Mom’s face was the election, Clay! Good job in helping her.”

“…And the way he does look at me makes me feel absolutely beautiful.”

The Reed’s being organized, neat, clean and orderly come face to face with their total opposite, their new neighbors, The Garrets. They have such a big family: 8 children. You have Alice, Joel, Andy, Duff, Harry, George, Patsy and last but not the least, Jase! Reading and seeing big families in movies like Cheaper by the Dozen makes me want to have a big family. It seems so much fun!! Yes, there will be A LOT of fighting but you know that they will always have your back no matter what. And if you have a BIG family, it’s easier to win the battle.

“Hey, he says again, sitting down next to me as though he knows me well. “Need rescuing?”

There family fascinates Sam so she ends up always watching them from her window.

giphy (23)

I love the first time they meet. Jase climbs the trellis outside her bedroom. It feels so much like Rapunzel. After a while, they make this their secret meeting place. Honestly guys, it makes me want a trellis or even just a ladder where their can be secret meetings at night. I’m considering leaving a ladder outside with the hopes that a Jase not a murderer/thief would use it to enter…

“Who are these people, and why do they think their own opinions are the only right ones?”

They fall in love but Sam keeps this a secret from her Mom who hates the Garrets and Nan her “best friend.” Nan, I can’t explain how I feel about this girl. I don’t like her. They were best friends at the start of the book BUT then she does something that annoys the guts out of me. UGH.

“Why do all the hot girls want the jocks and the good boys? We losers are the ones that need you.”

Let’s talk about Jase for a second. 6’2 and all MAAAN. He’s training to be quarter back. He loves cars and can fix anything. He’s sweet and very family oriented. He’s kind.

giphy (24)

Though he’s not rich, he works hard and has goals and dreams which is what is important. I love how he loves his whole family. Every time I read that he takes care of his baby brother and sister, he makes me fall in love with him even more.

“I don’t know. I didn’t have that choice. But I know what’s happening now. And I’m choosing to stay with you.”

Every character is relatable! The one who everyone expects to be perfect Sam. The hottie next door with financial problems Jase. The jealous best friend Nan. The druggie who made a 360 turn Tim. The overprotective mom Grace.

“Um. So … Are we going to study?”

Jase slides his thumbs behind my ears, rubbing the hollow at their base. He’s only inches from my face, still looking into my eyes. “You bet. I’m studying you.”

This book will just make you laugh and laugh and laugh guys. I’m telling you! No book has made me laugh so much. It’s something you should read if you want to feel good and be in love and just laugh. I love this book. A must read guys. FIRST LOVE FEELS. It will make you want to find love.

PS: A book about Tim’s love story is coming out soon! Can’t wait for that. ❤

Happy Reading!!

image

13 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. Josephine says:

    Loooved your review! I really want to read this book. And that Rapunzel reference you made? I just watched Tangled about 5 minutes ago and that little addition into your review just brought the feels all back. (I don’t know why I decided to watch it, I’m craving for a bit of Disney). But this book sounds light hearted and fun and lovely and I have a feeling I’ll be falling right in love with Jase. I can feel it!
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      I didn’t think it was possible to love you even more but now that you mentioned you loved Disney, I just did!!!! Rapunzel is one of my favs but my absolute fav is The Little Mermaid (also Frozen and Princess and the Frog) ❤
      Definitely lighthearted and fun also yes, you will fall in love with Jase ❤ Can't wait for you to read it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josephine says:

        Aw! 😆 xoxo
        I love all of them too!!! The Princess and the Frog is so amazing, I was obsessed with it after watching the first time! Oh no.. Now I have the urge to watch it! xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thanks, Vivian! ❤ Yeah, definitely one of those lighthearted books that you'll surely enjoy especially with the Garrets! Are you planning on reading the companion book, The Boy Most Likely To? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

