Point-Of-Two: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

Title: The Wrath and The Dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Series: The Wrath and The Dawn #1

Genre: YA, Romance, Retellings

Format: May 12th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Source: Own copy; bought in Powerbooks

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.
“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” 
“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.”

The Summary:

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

Our Thoughts:

FAVORITE READ OF 2015

“Love is—a shade of what I feel.”

Miedjel: My whole family has been raving about this book! At first, when Erika said the story was about a king who kills his brides every dawn, I didn’t want to read it cause it felt morbid. But I just had to see for myself what everyone is screaming their heads off about. Now, I am proud to say that I am also screaming my head off about this book!!!!!!

giphy (18)

Erika: First off, even after days of reading this my emotions are still all over the place. This is my first book hangover after the longest time. I keep rereading my favorite parts over and over again. It’s crazy. This book is one of those hype books you’re so scared to start because you might get disappointed. But the first time I read the synopsis of this book, I was intrigued. A story of a man who kills a new bride every night until this one girl changes it all. I’M IN.

I remember when I tell the synopsis to people very excitedly, they just find me very brutal. *ahem Miedjel* They’re like why are you so happy in saying he kills his bride every night? It’s called excitement! So even before the hype, this book was already on my radar but I was more excited because of the stellar reviews. They were not wrong.

“One hundred lives for the one you took. One life to one dawn. Should you fail but a single mourn, I shall take from you your dreams. I shall take from you your city. And I shall take from you these lives, a thousandfold.”

*dramatic pause* Now, that’s a prologue. If that didn’t make you want to read it. I don’t know what would.

Miedjel: This book started great! Renee just went head first to the good stuff no boring intro and crap like that. Shazi, the main girl, volunteered to be the next bride and that’s pretty weird because who would volunteer to die right?!

giphy (17)

Oh, be quiet Katniss! Anyway… as you read the book you realize the beautiful but scheming Shazi has a plan and that is to tell a story to the King. I know! That must be one hell of a story. Khalid though falls under her spell and lets her live for another day so she could finish her story but then days turn into weeks and so on. And Shazi is still alive!

Erika: We have Shazi who changed the game. She hates Khalid with a fury because he killed her best friend, Shiva, and countless other girls. So she starts out saying, “I would do whatever it takes to kill him. I will win. For Shiva.” All those really revengeful things. You have no doubt she hates him but…

gotta-go

Khalid. I don’t think anyone cannot fall in love with this guy— I mean King. He is a walking mystery. A freaking unsolvable math problem which I will solve no matter what it takes. I loathe math but I’d do it for him. Khalid is a snake, quiet but deadly. Don’t ever think about messing with him. People who don’t know him thinks his some kind of a wimp who lets others fight his battles but nope. NOPE. He isn’t like that. Not even a little bit.

“So you intend to go through life never loving anyone? Just … things?”
“No. I’m looking for something more.”
“More than love?”
“Yes.”
“Is it not arrogant to think you deserve more, Khalid Ibn al-Rashid?”
“Is it so arrogant to want something that doesn’t change with the wind? That doesn’t crumble at the first sign of adversity?”

Miedjel: Khalid, my love. He’s seriously indescribable. You’re not sure if he’s a good boy or a bad boy. I’m sure though that he is worthy of your time and that he’s husband goals!!! Overlooking the fact that he has killed all his past wives (with reason) of course.

“See? That mouth.” He reached up and grazed his thumb across her lips. “That— magnificent mouth.”

Erika: They start this very rocky relationship. He keeps asking her, “Why are you here?” Given the fact that she will die. You know what she does, she removes her clothes. Yup, the best distraction ever. They’re married after all. Then after she tells him a story. (not what you expected huh?) I seriously can’t imagine how good a story teller Shazi is. She was the first girl who wasn’t murdered because of her storytelling skills. The power of a great cliffhanger. This is the first time ever I’m glad the word cliffhanger was created because of that, Shazi lived to see another dawn.

“Do better than this, Shazi. My queen is without limitations. Boundless in all that she does. Show them.”

But because of her charm and wittiness, she lives and most importantly she falls in love. You know what I love most about Khalid? He brings Shazi up. He wants her to be great. Khalid is a treasure box, full of secrets you’d do anything to know. This is what hinders there relationship but when she finally finds out, there’s no turning back. You see his vulnerability. She loves him. I love him. What’s the diff right?

giphy (20)

There is this scene in the book where they sneak out in the streets without bodyguards and all. You will see the jealous side of Khalid and SO MUCH MORE that may or may not involve words spoken that will kill you of swoon worthiness and a kiss.

Miedjel: As much as I hate to say this, there is an irritating part about this book and it’s because of a boy named Tariq. (Yes, Im talking about you Tariq.) He is the former flame of Shazi and I’m so mad cause throughout  the whole book he can’t take a hint. Ok, wait I’m getting ahead of myself. He thinks that Shazi needs saving but then come on she’s still alive and it’s been weeks. Does that seem like a girl who needs saving to you?

giphy (12)

No! She doesn’t need saving so stop butting in! Oh, and all his POV’s in the book made me soooooo bored. Like every time I want a break from reading, I just pray that the next chapter is in his POV so that I can put it down.

“Some things exist in our lives for but a brief moment. And we must let them go on to light another sky.”

Erika: Of course, we have to have a love triangle right. Hello, Tariq. I honestly feel bad for guys whose been with the girl for a long time, it usually ends with the girl choosing the other guy. I feel like their relationship just becomes comfortable. Lost all the passion and desire. I love how this book did not have the conflict of the girl going back and forth with a guy cause she can’t choose. I don’t like that. Here, I can say that Shazi is decisive and so so so wise.

“How right you are. You are not mine.” He dropped his palm from the door. “I am yours.

This book is amazing you guys. I did nothing but swoon to thy holiness that is Khalid. Imagine a guy who only smiles for you? *sighs dreamily* His love for Shazi is unlike anything. It’s beautiful. They’re beautiful together.

“I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.”

Miedjel: This book is just really good and OH MY GOSH the words that he says to Shazi dear Jesus bless my soul it’s just gahhh… I cant even!

Erika: I’M SCREAMING. “What you think you thought is not actually what is!!!” Do I even still make sense? It didn’t have to happen that way. It was *insert name here* The last part brought me back to life and then killed me. So cruel right? I thought I could live in Cloud 9 forever but I’m now on the ground sulking.

giphy (21)

The only thing in this book for me is I found it hard to memorize the names. They were so long with titles kind of impossible to spell. It confused me a little especially with the minor characters but that is a very petty problem.

Please read this guys, I need someone to fangirl with. My plan is to hibernate until The Rose and The Dagger (the second book) comes out. If you’d be so kind and wake me up. Thank you.

I love this book.

Happy reading!!!

image

17 thoughts on “Point-Of-Two: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

  1. KimsiangLim says:

    Everytime I read your review, I can’t help but feel exactly what you want me to feel! And this time, I think I’m placing the order of the book tomorrow since it’s 11:45pm here 😉 I don’t think I have to say ‘awesome review’ or sth? ;D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine says:

    Omg omg omg! I am going to start this book today as soon as school finishes in about 5 hours! Your review has me so much more excited to get to it. I have the urge to run home right now and start reading it! You girls are awesome at writing fun yet compelling reviews that leave me with an urge to read the book you reviewed! I can’t wait to read The Wrath and the Dawn and I will definitely be there to fan girl on with you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

