Erika’s POV: This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

15790873

Title: This is What Happy Looks Like

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Series: This is What Happy Looks Like #1

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Format: Published April 2nd 2013 by Headline

Source: Own copy; bought in National Bookstore

“Exactly. How can you know it makes you happy if you’ve never experienced it?”

“There are different kinds of happy,” she said. “Some kinds don’t need any proof.”

The Summary:

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?

My Thoughts:

“Wait, is that your way of saying good-bye without really saying goodbye?”

“No. Actually, I’m not sure I’m quite finished saying hello yet.”

I love how this book starts with email exchanges. It’s just so unique and cute so you get really into it. My initial thoughts are: First, okay, it’s kind of scary to talk to strangers via the internet cause you never know if the person you’re talking to is sort of a perverted serial killer but then again would a perverted serial killer have a pet pig named Wilbur? The chances are very slim sooooo let’s forget that possibility for a second. Then they start talking about other cutesy things and they sort of start flirting. Would a perverted serial killer spend so much time with you talking about nonsense things? Maybe so, but Ellie still took the risk. I would take it too if it would lead me to my own Graham Larkin!

Here I am typing GDL824@yahoo.com still waiting for freaking Graham Larkin to reply to me…

giphy (16)

“I never said I was good,” he told her, taking the pen. “Just that I liked doing it.”
“That’s the best kind of good.”

For a reason that will make you grin like a loony, Graham starts shooting in the location where Ellie lives. They’ve been emailing for months now and so they kind of start developing feelings for each other which is really unfair cause my email is just full of spam not one single email about a pig named Wilbur.

“It was exactly as he’d thought it would be, like the first time and the millionth time all at once, like being wide awake, like losing his balance. Only this time, it wasn’t just him; this time, they were losing their balance together.”

The first time they meet there was this intense staring contest but they didn’t even know that they were already staring at the eyes of the person they’ve been emailing for months. So it starts off with this crazy mistake of identity which is just really funny. I was just thinking the whole time, “That’s not her!!!! Stop assuming,” but the moment they truly meet is just really cute and great. Just like Graham cause he’s really cute and great too.

“But from where he was standing, he could see her perfectly: the wavy red hair and the oversize T-shirt with a smiling lobster on the front, the way her legs were tucked up beneath her on the swing, and the freckles across her nose. He could see her, and it was just like he’d thought. It was just like being punched in the stomach.”

Of course, it can’t just be all happy right? Just when you get excited cause they’re finally together another twist comes right in. COME ON! Is that really necessary? Which causes Ellie to stay away from Graham and then we get this whole drama fest which is annoying.

giphy (13)

Let me tell you, Graham. A girl wants to be fought for. Grow some balls and don’t give up. If you like the girl and you obviously know she likes you too, fight harder. Don’t give up!! I like you guys together so please.

And you Ellie, stop it with your dramaness. It’s not even making sense. You can’t just abandon Graham with no explanation cause that’s just plain cruel. Seriously, if you don’t want him a lot of girls do and I’m one of them. So stake you’re claim while you still can!!!

“Salutations,” he said, and she smiled.
“Good morning.”
“Yeah,” he said. “It really is.”

Then when they do get together again, some family issues comes along. Graham was just so supportive about everything which is amazing. When that’s all over, they finally get a proper date. YEHEY. F I N A L L Y. Yes, I’m happy cause Graham is just the sweetest person ever.

“The end coming before the beginning really even had a chance to begin.”

Though at times I was bored because I felt like absolutely nothing was happening, I still couldn’t stop myself from reading with the hopes of their happily ever after but that ending though…. I NEED MORE. I don’t like endings that seem to have no closure. It’s like after everything I want them to be together but the uncertainty is there yet you know it will happen kind of thing. The struggle. The plus is letting you imagine what happens next.

Happy Reading!!!

image

6 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    You’re so good at writing your review in a conversational style. TEACH ME YOUR WAYS haha. This book sounds adorable but argh open endings are so aggravating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      *whispers* Keep this between us Aentee but it’s because I love talking to myself. I find that I’m a good conversationalist. lol
      OPEN ENDINGS ARE THE WORST. :(( not my cup of tea. Yes, adorable factor is present ❤

      Like

  2. Josephine says:

    I love love loved this review! It makes me want to go out and buy this book immediately! It sounds so lighthearted and fun and sweet and Graham sounds like a potential book boyfriend…
    Your review style is lovely, I’m always caught like a fly in a spiderweb when I begin reading your reviews! (Which is a good thing!) ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    I haven’t read a Jennifer E. Smith book yet, but I own two. And this review 100% makes me want to read them! (Also, your review style is super lovely).

    It sounds like she writes cute but tumultuous romances, which are usually my favourite type. But the ~drama~ can get a tad annoying for me, because I just want everyone to be happy XD

    Open endings hurt me, and I’m sad to know that this book has one! I hope that it had a LITTLE BIT of closure, though. Because if not, I always feel like I have almost read the book for nothing. Sigh.

    Great review, Erika!

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thanks so much, Chiara! ❤ Actually her books are VERY open ended but gives you a certain hope. I'm excited to hear your thoughts on this one cause honestly I loath open endings like what you said it feels like you read the book for nothing. :((
      Which two books do you have? My fav from her is The Geography of You and Me!! The Statistical is going to be a movie though with Hailee Steinfield! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

