Point-Of-Two: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

7896527

Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Format: Published August 7th 2012 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Source: Own copy; bought in Fully Booked

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

The Summary:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Our Thoughts:

Erika: Throne of Glass is an extremely hyped book for me especially by Miedjel. She would kill me if I didn’t like this book. I did like this very much so I’m very happy to report that my head will STILL remain on my body.

giphy (6)

Miedjel: Barely! You only rated it 4 stars. If it was my decision, you deserved at least a tackle but nooo apparently I can’t tackle Erika….

I was looking for new books to read when I came across Throne of Glass in Goodreads. I will tell you this. At that time, I didn’t know that I have found THE book no joke and no exaggeration. We all have that one book that we would just talk about forever and ever, errrr day, all day. For me, it was this book. I’m not sure if you guys know this but I think I have mentioned it on my pass book reviews— I am a feminist. So when I read this book, (actually the first chapter of this book) I instantly fell in love.

I, Miedjel Marie G. Villamayor, (and yes I do need to say my whole name) was hooked and reeled as Anna Banks would put it.

“Here’s a lesson for you Weapons Master,” she said, stalking past him. “Give me real men to fight. Then maybe I’ll bother trying.”

Erika: Yup, feminists right here! Celaena is definitely one who can represent that. She is a freaking kick ass heroine. I love her!! She is so smart, cunning. brave and awesome. I love books representing strong female protagonists. Not only is she badass, she is also very beautiful, grime and all!!

“I will not be afraid.”

Miedjel: Celaena Sordothian is a strong, fierce, intelligent, arrogant (in a good way), and gorgeous girl. I love her because when you meet her she has already been subjected to the heat that precious stones need. When you meet her, she isn’t cowering. She’s standing tall because no matter what, she knows what she’s worth. I absolutely love that! I believe we need more books about girls like this. She is the epitome of what a girl can be without the insecurities and self doubt. Well, Celaena is an assassin… So girls, be the Calaena in the real world!!!! But please don’t start killing people for money. (that would be REALLY bad)

“Chaol,”

“And you’re Adarlan’s Assassin. But I was wondering if—if you wanted to—“

“Chaol,” she warned. As he pivoted, Celaena vomited all over the floor.

Erika: Okay so the first guy we get introduced to is Chaol, who is the extremely grumpy Captain of the Guard. Okay so my first thought, “He could be a candidate for Celaena’s heart. He is grumpy, yes, but knowing Celeana, she would thaw that frozen heart. He is kinda cute.” BUT THEN. BUT THEN. We meet Prince Dorian.

giphy (4)

I’m sorry Chaol but I might be a little (okay, a lot) biased but Princes always ALWAYS win in my opinion. Come on, it is every girls dream to be a princess right?

“It’s Dorian, by the way. Not ‘Your Highness.’ “

“Very well.”

“Say it.”

“Say what?”

“Say my name. Say, ‘Very well, Dorian.’ “

Prince Dorian is the biggest flirt ever. He knows how to work his charms. He always winks and I can’t imagine how I’d react if I was the recipient of that said wink. But if I did imagine, I’ll probably look a little like this.

giphy (7)

He isn’t evil like his father AND brace yourselves: HE IS AN AVID READER. *exhales slowly* It was the worst thing keeping that in.

“Are you my present, or is there something in that basket under your feet?”

“If you’d like to unwrap me, we still have an hour until the temple service.”

Miedjel: Erika, as always, great minds think alike!!! Introducing my point of view, drum roll please… Of course, like every other good book there is a boy in this case boys. The refined, easy going Prince Dorian of Erilea and the oh, so stubborn, Chaol, Captain of the Guard. In this book, I shipped Dorian and Celaena. Don’t blame me for going for the Prince. Blame the little girl inside me still waiting for my Prince!!! Chaol still did appeal to me prince or not prince. So we all know what I chose but then when you read this book maybe you’ll ship Chaol and Celaena.

“Second place is a nice title for the first loser.”

Erika: Celaena is selected for the running to be the King’s Champion. Honestly though, I feel so bad for the other Champions. YOU HAVE NO FREAKING CHANCE AGAINST CELAENA. Even with all the magic in the world!!!!!!!!

giphy (8)

“No. I can survive well enough on my own— if given the proper reading material.”

The focus of this book is to find the King’s Champion so I was definitely missing a lot of butt kicking because Celaena was just stuck inside her room either reading (Yes, she is an avid reader as well. EVERYONE is this freaking book is an avid reader. It’s the best!) or sleeping or going into this underground tunnel/escape route. I NEED ME SOME ACTION CELAENA! But when she does train with Chaol and starts kicking his and the other Champions ass, it’s the best!!

“What are you doing here?” Chaol hissed softly.

“What are you doing here?” Dorian countered, trying to keep his voice quiet.

Here’s the thing about Chaol. We can obviously see behind his “I don’t like Celaena” facade. He does this small acts of kindness and the way he is SO jealous of Dorian makes me grin so freaking hard. He’s always warning Dorian to use his brain and not to be stupid… I don’t think he’s the only person in need of your very wise advice Chaol. 

giphy (5)

We also get introduced to Princess Nehemia! More girl power. Seriously this girl is amazing. I can’t wait for more of her and Celaena’s moments together. I seriously think they can rule the world!

The description of how Celaena kills her enemies is just woah! Incredible. But the training she had was just not something a girl who is as young as 6 should be doing. She didn’t get to choose where she ended up because she was alone at such a young age. Left to fend for herself. She had no choice but to stay or else she would have died. I cannot fathom leaving my childhood and being an assassin. Being imprisoned so harshly and still living. I applaud her for that. She just never gave up.

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”

Miedjel: Amen to that! Another thing I like about this book is that it’s fantasy which people, if you didn’t know is one of my favorite genres! Sarah J. Maas’ put meaning into this book. Not that some books don’t have meaning, all books do but this one for me was just full of it— every corner and crevice! Her writing blew my mind. Oh, I can’t wait for me too turn 18 so I can read A Court of Thorns and Roses. Why does it have to be NA. Why Sarah!?! Why!??! Still love you though!

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

Erika: Yup, Miedjel 18! Don’t worry I can read it first and tell you if it’s good *laughs evilly* 

This book is filled with so much action and it makes you proud to be a woman. And nope, you will not be missing any testosterone here. Also, it doesn’t just tell you Celaena’s point of view but of the other characters as well which I love. I enjoyed reading this and I hope you guys do too. The ending broke me though. Why did he have to give up just like that?! I ship them so freaking hard but I will not lose hope!!! 

giphy (10)

Happy reading!!

Erika’s rating:

image

Miedjel’s rating:

image
8 thoughts on “Point-Of-Two: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. KimsiangLim says:

    This is my favorite series ever after HP! I SHIP DORAENA TOO! (is that the ship name? but you get the idea), princes are the best XD Celaena is so badass and I like her XD Get ready for more sassness and action in book two because it make you out of breath! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine says:

    Oh my gosh you guys got this review of Throne of Glass absolutely PERFECT. Everything you said reflects how I feel about this book. GIRL POWER ALL THE WAY! Celaena is my favourite female protagonist ever and Nehemia as fabulous.
    I must say, although I ship Chaol and Celaena right now, after reading this first book I was totally team Dorian. I loooove Dorian so much! Hes such a sweet heart, he’s a true prince and his flirting got to me in this book. But Chaol… He’s just so adorable! I can’t handle it! Ah, you girls are making me doubt my choices. You know what? I ship them both. Until I read Queen of Shadows, I will not have a solid decision. 😂
    I loved this review so so so much. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      HAHAHAHA. I know right. It’s the worst thing having to decide!! I’m currently reading CoM and I’m falling in love with Chaol!!! SEND HELP! He is seriously confusing the shit out of me. My feelings can’t be contained. Thanks so much, Josie ❤ -Erika
      Hi Josie!!! You are officially my new best friend. We need to go to Starbucks and just talk about Celaena, Chaol, Dorian, Aedion, Rowan and EVERYONE ❤ -Miedjel

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

