Erika’s POV: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

22836575

Title: 99 Days

Author: Katie Cotugno

Series: Standalone

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Format: Published April 21st 2015 by Balzer + Bray

Source: Own copy, bought in National Bookstore

“You know what you gotta decide when you’re a writer?”

“Which stories to tie up at the ending, Molly,” she tells me. “And which ones you have to let go.”

The Summary:

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

My Thoughts:

Okay, 99 days is seriously leaving me emotionally confused. I’m feeling everything from being extremely annoyed to loving the sexy kissing scenes.

“Is this a date?”

“I don’t know, Molly Barlow. Do you want it to be?”

One thing I can’t stand is cheating on someone. Seriously like even though you guys are *broken up* you don’t go and bang his brother. That is just so freaking messed up. You’ve been together for like ever and then one big fight doesn’t mean you are actually broken up which also means you shouldn’t end up on the other team. Molly, I repeat so messed up.

The book is written in a span of 99 days which is equivalent to one summer. We have Molly who ran away once the drama has exploded but came back just a summer before leaving for college. The people she wanted to avoid ended up invading her summer.

“Molly was our family. Molly was here when Dad died. And I don’t— not to put too fine a point on it, but it takes two people to do what we did okay? And Patrick’s my brother. I just, I’ve had it with this shit. I really have.”

We have the Donnellys: Gabe, Patrick and Julia. Your typical very good-looking family. Gabe is more of the striking one whose outgoing and carefree while Patrick is more of a snake quiet yet deadly kind of thing. He likes to be be alone with Molly all the time. Julia is of course stunning and beautiful. She’s a bitch to Molly understandable because of what she did BUT I hate the double standards. Molly is being called a dirty slut while Gabe and Patrick are not even blamed or anything. You would actually think they’re cool. It’s frustating to the highest level. I just want to punch something to release this thing I’m feeling. If Molly is being called a slut so should Gabe and Patrick.

“Patrick was my other person, my other half. I never felt stuck or cut off or like there was other stuff I’d rather be doing, never felt like there was anything else I’d rather be. At least, not until the moment it did.”

Every person in this book is a masochist. M A S O C H I S T. They just keep putting themselves in situations that would end up with them hurting themselves and each other. I have one rule: Don’t date the ex of your friends or sisters/brothers. It will get messy. There will be conflicts. But guess what? They do this repeatedly. It’s driving me freaking crazy. Gabe, Patrick and Molly is a love triangle too overwhelming for me. They just keep making the same mistakes over and over again. Molly be like “So Gabe likes me I’ll be there. Oh, wait Patrick also likes me so I’ll be there too.” Make your mind up, woman!!! I could try to understand making the mistake once but over and over again.

giphy (1)

The mom, though. THE MOM who is the root cause of all evil. We, as children, expect the things we tell our mother to remain confidential cause helloooo you’re our confidante. You are our shelter but what does she do?! Make her daughter’s life into a book. I was thinking the whole time, I get the inspiration thing but did she really have to say that it was inspired from her daughter. Couldn’t she make something up? I feel really bad for Molly. This should not have happened to her. Lesson learned: The truth will find you out.

“You were my best friend, Molly. You always had Patrick. But I only ever had you.”

I love her bestfriend, Imogen, though. She is the best character is my opinion. I understand her trepidation with being friends with Molly again, she left her without saying goodbye. If that happened to me, I would feel so heartbroken I wouldn’t know what to do. She’s a forgiving person and a good friend. I would love a book with her and handsome Jay. They’re so cute.

“My lips feel swollen and itchy from too much kissing.”

Katie told us that she loved writing kissing scenes. Yes, they are very good kissing scenes. The forbiddeness of it all was probably what made me continue reading the book. Also, the fact that I feel guilty not finishing it.

What I can say about it though is the realness of it. Things like this really happen but I don’t want to read a book full of the irritating world we live in. I want a bit of the unreal to be honest. I’d say How To Love is more my cup of tea. So if you want something real you can totally relate to, give this book a chance!

I really do love the cover and the endpapers.

Happy reading!!!

7 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    Completely agree with you on this one!

    I hated the double standards. It drove me absolutely nuts that Gabe got NO trouble/harassment whatsoever for sleeping with his brother’s girlfriend yet the girlfriend (Molly) is completely shunned for it! It takes TWO TO TANGO people!

    At the same time, I cut Molly a little bit of slack about the situation that happens later in the summer. I really felt like the boys knew how to manipulate her into making those choices. I mean, she obviously is having a hard time of things (everyone shunning her) so the first bit of attention she gets, she soaks it up. Not saying I agree (because I don’t) but I can see why she did some of the things she did.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thank you so much! ❤ Totally agree with you on the manipulation thing. I feel really sad how Molly doesn't even have the attention but has the very unconventional love of her Mom and all the drama around her. The guys were just really annoying. Hot but annoying *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

