Erika’s POV: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

20736424

Title: Ugly Love

Author: Colleen Hoover

Series: Standalone

Genre: NA, Romance, Contemporary

Format: Published August 5th 2014 by Atria Books

Source: Own copy; bought in Fully Booked

“But the second she opened her eyes and looked at me, I knew. She was either going to be the death of me . . . or she was going to be the one who finally brought me back to life.”

The Summary:

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

My Thoughts:

Another CoHo book! WOHOO! I adore her and her work very much. I just love how she tackles different topics in the books she writes. She’s amazing!

“That’s how it is when a person develops an attraction toward someone. He’s nowhere, then suddenly he’s everywhere, whether you want him to be or not.”

My. Oh. Miles. He’s not just mysterious and hot. He’s also a pilot. What’s hotter than a man in uniform specifically a pilot uniform? Nothing. Zip. None. Yumminess at it’s finest. *heart eyes*

“Love isn’t always pretty. Sometimes you spend all your time hoping it’ll eventually be something different. Something better. Then, before you know it, you’re back to square one, and you lost your heart somewhere along the way.”

So the first time Tate meets Miles, he’s drunk as drunk can be. I was like, “What’s up with this? Why is there a random drunk stranger infront of her brother’s aparment?” There first meeting is really hilarious (especially when his brother called his neighbour for help with the drunk dude but it turns out he was the drunk dude lol) but also very emotional. Miles was crying so much. My heart instantly hurts for him. His pain was soooooo tangible.

“It’s love in general I don’t want, Tate. Ever. It’s you specifically that I just…want.”

Miles and Tate start out really awkward. It’s so obvious they have this mutual attraction for each other but they’re not showing it. There first kiss was INTENSE. *exhales deeply* I’m like finally, finally! then he stops and starts this no strings attach, only sex no love.

“You make it so hard to breathe.”

NOPE & NOPE! That will never work. You guys are old enough to figure that out. Especially with the attraction between the two of you!!! They’re acting all dumb which annoys me. It’s pretty obvious that Tate’s just doing this with the hope he’ll fall in love with her and Miles’s just so freaking stubborn. You stubborn stubborn boy. What is wrong with loving her????

“I suppose if a man lived through the ugliest side of love, he might never want to experience it again.”

I find out Miles story and it crushes me. The way Colleen wrote Mile’s chapters was so personal that it included his inner monologue. His thoughts when he does something which just brings you closer to him. Makes you understand him more. His story is unfathomable. It’s something no human being should go through. The whole time while I was reading I kept wondering just like Tate what could have happened for him to lose hope in love. When I found out, Wow, I can’t even say I understand how he feels cause I absolutely don’t not even a minuscule of it. It was terrible and horrible.

6 years of abstinence, though!

giphy (3)

You are a strong man but then Tate and all your defenses are down. It hurts because it’s painfully obvious that they love each other but Miles just can’t seem to move on. But he should. You should Miles. You deserve happiness too. I’m thankful that he has awesome people by his side who knocks some sense into him when he needs it.

You can’t deny how perfect Tate and Miles are so please just be together already. No more just sex I want love. LOVE. Your arrangement will never work. I could just feel it how you guys are absolutely head over heels for each other.

“but every word I speak is voiced for that sole reason. To make her smile.”

This book has kept my passion burning and burning and then just gone and then burning and burning again. That is how Miles and Tate’s relationship is like so intense I had to bite myself a couple of times just to release the emotions. TOO MUCH! The ending was beautiful & perfect.

“It may be a small piece at a time, but my past is yours now. All of it. Anything you want to know, I want to tell you. But only if you promise me I can also have your future.”

Heart-breaking. Heart-warming. Everything good and bad all at once. I NEED more.

“God gives us the ugliness so we don’t take the beautiful things in life for granted.”

PS: The song for this book is just absolutely perfect. Listen to it. It will give you instant feels.

Ugly Love by Griffin Peterson (His voice is sooo sexy *sigh*)

Happy reading!!!!

image

5 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

  1. Josephine says:

    Your review is ON POINT! This book gave me so many feels. I remember reading it and being so irritated and confused as to why Miles was being so stubborn and just leading Tate along a no strings attached sex relationship and how Tate let it happen but as I learned more about Miles and their relationship developed, I was rooting for them so so so much and I loved Miles so much. As I was reading your review I was remembering Miles’s story and I’ve for tears in my eyes. It was so sad that even now its making me cry. Oh gosh, deep breaths! 😣
    Are you excited for the movie?! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

