Erika’s POV: The Beginning of Never by O.E. Boroni

25433872

Title: The Beginning of Never

Author: O. E. Boroni

Series: The Never Trilogy #1

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary

Format: Published April 20th 2015 by Waves Corporation

Source: From publicist and author; for review

“Lennie, you need to be careful, and also, if knowing that he has been stealing glances at you for the last hour is all it takes for you to smile like this, then you’re so screwed.”

The Summary:

Twilight meets Eleanor and Park in this contemporary romance story about a love that insists on forever.

When Lenora Baker and Nathan Roqué run into each other in their boarding school courtyard, they have no idea that they are about to begin a journey that will take them the rest of their lives to recover from. Both scarred from parents who were once in love but ended up destroying each other, they are sworn off the possibility that there can truly exist a love that will never end.

But when with each other they find a passion so strong that it heals as powerfully as it burns, a love that will run out is no longer an option for them. Together, they discover just how far they are willing to go to preserve what they know they will only find once in their lifetime.

This is the start of their journey, and here you will come to realize, that falling in love is only the first part of the story…

My Thoughts: 

First, I want to thank Paula M. of Her Book Thoughts and O. E. Boroni for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

“Life could be so complicated that a simple relationship between two people couldn’t even be sustained.”

The moment I read the title, I was scared. The Beginning of Never so I’m thinking that whatever is suppose to happen will NEVER happen and it’s a very depressing thought. I don’t do well with books that don’t have a happily ever after. I was right to think this way because the ending of this book left me with a hole in my heart…

“On other days, my mind would have wandered away to times with my mom, and all the ways I’d need her in the future but would never be able to have her with me.”

We have Nora, a fifteen year old girl, who had a tragedy in life. Her mom died and she blames herself. I can’t even begin to imagine how my life will be like without my mom. I refuse to think about it. Never ever ever!

She has a very self-absorbed dad who instead of actually caring for her in the midst of the death of her mother actually sends her to boarding school. Wow, it’s like your already alone. Why not leave you more alone? It’s crazy. I didn’t like it that he thrust her in the world of the unknown when what she needed was familiarity.

“Anyway, so far, you’re the closest thing to a friend he has so—“

I interrupted, “Trust me, we’re not friends.”

“Trust me, you’ve come farther than most.”

Nora ends up being so closed off to people that even though she’s been in that school for 3 years, she knows nothing about it. But then Nathan comes along, he changes everything.

“I feel like I’m going to make the same mistake; fall for someone so deeply that I don’t recover from it.”

The first thing that came to my mind about Nathan was, he reminds me so much of Noah Shaw (Mara Dyer series) I adore Noah so soooo much! Just like Noah, Nathan is mysterious. Seriously, I feel like I know nothing about him except he has love issues because of his parents, he has siblings and he is extremely attractive.

It’s annoying how one minute he’s there and the next his gone. He would talk to Nora on Monday and then on Tuesday he would ignore her. Isn’t that just insane? He’s so hot and cold. The weird thing about it is that this is the reason I’m so drawn to him. I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HE’S ALL ABOUT. One thing I absolutely love about him though is that he’s smart and loves to read. Guys with no substance are soooo never. He’s my dream guy minus the too much mysteriousness.

“I want right now as much as you do, but do you know what I want more? I want to be able to have a long, insanely crazy, and fulfilling life with you.”

You know how men usually think with their ding-a-lings instead of their brain, especially teenagers. Nope, not Nathan he’s so mature for his age it’s crazy. Maybe he’s been through a lot even though he’s just 19? I don’t know but if ever I meet a guy who would sacrifice now to ensure a future forever, I wouldn’t let him go.

Nora becomes kind of obsessive of Nathan because finally she’s actually feeling something and I feel really bad for her. I can’t say I know how it feels to be in love for the first time but I assume based on the books I’ve read (my only reference) it’s the consuming type of love, you think about day and night. So that’s what happens to Nora but then Nathan is a hard one to crack. He rarely showed his vulnerability but when he did, you just want to live in his brain and never come out.

The reason for everything was because of that stupid door to Narnia. They had this like secret garden which was their hiding place but then someone who is so jealous followed them and got loss and ugh sooo annoying. Seriously. The ruiner of them all.

“I’d learnt in my years here to choose my battles.”

The ending though, I couldn’t believe it. He should have done it himself… But nevertheless, I was rereading the ending again and again. I need to know what happens next! I’ll definitely be reading the next book. NEED IT NOW!

Happy reading!!!

image
2 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: The Beginning of Never by O.E. Boroni

Leave a Reply

