Erika’s POV: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

14061955

Title: Siege and Storm

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Series: The Grisha #2

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Format: Published June 4th 2013 by Henry Holt and Co.

Source: Own copy, bought in National Bookstore

“Why won’t you leave me alone?”

“Then I’d be alone, too,” he said…

The Summary: 

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

My Thoughts:

“There are no others like us, Alina,” he whispered. “And there never will be.”

Siege and Storm starts with Alina and Mal. First reaction: I need me some Darkling. (Yup, that’s how strong Darkling’s power is. It reaches all the way to the other side of the world.)

There is no place Mal and Alina can hide that the Darkling can’t find them. (Good thing for me cause they’d be together) but because Alina hasn’t been using her powers, she’s been feeling weak and ill.  I remember in the first book that the reason why Alina never showed her powers was because of Mal. She kept it in so she wouldn’t be separated from him. I honestly don’t know what to feel about Mal. Is he a good thing or a bad thing?

“No, Alina. You came here for Ravka. For the firebird. To lead the second army.” He tapped the sun over his heart.

“I came here for you. You’re my flag. You’re my nation.”

There’s this thing that happens and Mal suddenly acts really reckless and irresponsible having these underground fights and he starts to neglect Alina. I’m trying to understand where he’s coming from. He loves Alina but it seems like he’s not meant for her. Alina is meant for something big and Mal is bringing her down. Stop acting so foolish Mal! Suck it up. Don’t be a liability! I have moments where I’m touched by you like when you say things that are so romantic that makes me want to hug and kiss you so please don’t ruin it.

“I took a breath. “Your highness—”

“Nikolai,” he corrected. “But I’ve also been known to answer to ‘sweetheart’ or ‘handsome.’ “

This isn’t just a love triangle but a love square. We get introduced to Prince Nikolai. He is eloquent, handsome, charming and rich. What more can you ask for? Also, funny definitely funny.

“I thought you wanted to go.”
“I wanted you to ask me to stay.”

THE REAL QUESTION IS: How could Alina go wrong?! Whoever she chooses, there’s something good. *Darkling* *cough cough* *or Nikolai*

We have Vasily though, the firstborn so he is the rightful heir. He is so arrogant and tries to make a move on Alina. (Wow, did I say square?! I meant pentagon. A love pentagon.) Pleeeeeease Vasily, show some shame and don’t even attempt but he does. UGH. I don’t like him. He’s so threatened by Nikolai that he does something so stupid. S T U P I D. Just to prove a point. Well, point proven smart guy! We now all know you aren’t meant to lead.

“I’ve seen what you truly are,” said the Darkling, “and I’ve never turned away. I never will. Can he say the same?”

Honestly, with this book I just miss the Darkling. I wanted more of him. Every time they’re together, you can feel the power and connection. You want Alina and him to be together. Especially at the end of this book, when their lips touch, it’s intense to the highest level. Even just a kiss makes it so hard for me to breath. That’s just a kiss. Imagine more….. Yup, I love them. Please let it be them.

“Scars make good reminders.”

Also, Genya. I love this girl but I’m also sad for her. She trusts the Darkling so much and what he did to her… She didn’t deserve it. Darkling please stop being so evil. I believe in the goodness in you. There is some in there we just need to pull it out. (I’d probably need to use a crane cause it’s waaaaaaay down there but it’s there.)

Happy reading!!!

image
13 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thank you, Analee! YEAH. “He is so bad but he does it SOOO well.” Pretty much the Darkling!!! I already did read the third book. The ending was so sad but unpopular opinion I actually liked it!!! I’ll be posting my review on it soon. 🙂

      Like

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Haha I love how unabashedly you love the Darkling– he’s definitely the highlight of SHADOW AND BONE for me but I haven’t picked up the sequels yet. Mainly cos Mal and Alina puts me to sleep as a couple.

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      “Mal and Alina puts me to sleep.” HAHAHAHAHA. It’s like when people recommended me Shadow and Bone all they could say is “The Darkling” lol Honestly though, I just kept reading cause I needed to know what would happen with the Darkling! You might really get annoyed with what will happen in the third book though… Also, he’s rarely appears on this book but when he does it’s amazing! We have a new Prince though that might convince you to read it!!! Do you have plans on picking up the series? Unpopular opinion but I did love the ending! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

    Awesome review Erika! I didn’t love the Darkling but I understand why people do lol. I’m just in love with Nikolai haha and I wanted Alina to either end up with Nik or Darkling (more Nik but whatever lol). I was so annoyed with Mal in this book, I just wanted to hit him. The thing that got me so mad was how he wanted her to be the old Alina, but Alina didn’t love herself then you know? Now she’s more confident and powerful and Mal couldn’t accept that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      I KNOW RIGHT. It’s the worst thing ever when you’re meant for greatness and of all the people, the person you love the most, is what’s hindering you. It’s like your partner should make you better not worst. 😐
      NIKOLAI IS SO WITTY, CONFIDENT AND CUTE!!! Love him so much too.
      I usually root for the good guy but the Darkling is just too irresistable! Why didn’t you like him though? But he really is evil…. like what he did to Genya :(((((

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

