Point-Of-Two: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

17453983

Title: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: Anna and the French Kiss #1

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary

Format: Published December 2nd 2010 by Dutton Juvenile

Source: Own copy; National Bookstore

“Then let me put it another way. A gorgeous boy is in love with you, and you’re not even gonna try to make it work?”

The Summary:

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

Our Thoughts:

“So what do I wish for? Something I’m not sure I want? Someone I’m not sure I need? Or someone I know I can’t have?”

Erika: I personally love Paris and I would love to go there but to actually live there alone?! I’d be pretty upset too. I wouldn’t want to go cause I’ll miss my family and friends but the good side about it are boys (more like A boy)… So she meets Etienne St. Clair– handsome, smart. charming, funny, everyone’s friend– the epitome of perfection and to top it all of has an English accent. I’m a sucker for guys with accents. I mean who on earth isn’t? but he also has a girlfriend. Why are all hot guys taken? I ask that question all the freaking time….

 Miedjel: Anna and the French Kiss is a great book! I found out about it a long time ago like when I was 13 but I didn’t read it because of the title– Anna and the FRENCH KISS. I was a little hesitant cause I thought it would have scenes that I shouldn’t be reading but then my cousin read it and said it was amazing and the guy is hot. So I asked her if there were any “scenes” she said no and that I could definitely read it so I did.

“There’s only one thing I don’t love about him. Her.”

Yes, Anna who is forced to go to a boarding school in Paris for her Senior year. She was dreading school in Paris but when she meets Etienne St. Clair, she thinks maybe Paris isn’t so bad but the thing is St. Clair already has a girlfriend. When Anna finds out her heart is crushed but then St. Clair starts spending more and more time with Anna going to the movies, touring around Paris, and a little flirting?

Erika: I feel for Anna every time she wants Etienne yet she knows she can’t have him. It makes me sad and annoyed because they’re perfect for each other!! Depart from them Ellie. Leave please. They’re both acting naive thinking they don’t like each other. WRONG!! Obviously wrong.

“Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?”

Miedjel: So wrong! and YES they are perfect for each other. Anna and St. Clair don’t like change, their both nice, they both have teeth problems, actually just a thought.. St. Clair and I are perfect for each other too, I dont like cha——

Erika: Miedjel, please, we both know Anna and Etienne are meant to be.

Miedjel: But………………

Erika: Miedjel. Just stop.

Miedjel: *sigh*

Erika: It’s okay. *pats back* * murmurs comforting words* I love him too.

“Oh, no.
He’s not going to cry, is he? Because even though it’s sweet when guys cry, I am so not prepared for this.
Girl scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.”

Erika: This is definitely one of my all time favorite books. Light, full of love, accents, Paris, funny. What more can you ask for? This is a must read for all you hopeless romantic out there or if you just want to smile and laugh. I was definitely grinning like a weirdo the whole time I was reading this.

“I love you as certain dark things are loved, secretly, between the shadow and the soul.”

Miedjel: While I was reading, my reaction was in this exact order:

“Oh My! He’s so hot.”

“No no no no!”

“Oh. My. Gosh. Kiss already while I’m still alive!!!”

“He did what?!”

And many more. If your looking for an amazing light chick lit book with a hot English accent, this is the book for you!

Erika: Also, Paris has so many beautiful infrastructures that were showcased in this book like the Louvre, Point Zero where you get to make a wish, the Shakespeare and Co. bookstore (where I really want to go to), so much movie houses, the famous Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, and all the restaurants with all those delicious food. Now, I have a craving for those yummy sandwiches, macaroons and crepes! It already feels like I have an itinerary just by reading this book. My excitement to go to Paris just tripled. All in my bucket list now. 

Miedjel: I’m so tagging along when you go to Paris!! You can’t stop me.

“The more you know who you are, and what you want, the less you let things upset you.”

Erika: If you behave yourself, maybe I’ll allow you to come with me… Getting to meet Etienne and his English accent is the cherry on top. I love him. The characters in this book are all relatable which I love too. Grab this book now! Happiness overload. 

Highly recommended.

Happy reading!!

image

19 thoughts on “Point-Of-Two: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. KimsiangLim says:

    I love this book!!!! I love Stephanie Perkins! READ LOLA THOUGH!!!!! (Sorry that’s a bit forceful) XD, Lola is my favorite out of the 3, btw. 🙂 And awesome reviews! Totally on point! Now I wanna reread the book for the 100th time XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      STEPHANIE PERKINS IS A FREAKING GOD OF CONTEMP. She went her for a book signing once. She is the nicest person ever!!!! Her husband is such a cutie as well. (He looks like a Cricket) 😉 You know what Steph said, all the guys in her books are actually inspired from Jarrod (her husband) TOO PERFECT! I actually already read all her books! Anna is my fav but Lola is really good too, Cricket is just so nerdy and cute and lovable. NOT FORCEFUL AT ALL. I know how it is when you really like a book! Just go CAPSLOCK and use exclamation points on me!!!! ❤ Have you read Isla? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • KimsiangLim says:

        I’ve read all of them! ANNA AND ETIENNE ARE ENGAGED! There capslock XD And Josh with his drawings and stuffs is just so cute. Cricket is like the nicest guy in the universe. He’s so sweet!!! And Etienne, I actually like him a lot especially his height because he won’t be that much taller than me with my height XDXD

        Liked by 1 person

      • partnersinbooks says:

        YES I KNOW!!!!!!!!! That was my favorite part in Isla. I remember having to wait a year for it to come out. TORTURE. Also, Cricket with the moon and stars things *heart eyes* I really love Isla. She’s A-dorable.
        HAHAHAHA. I wish he was a bit taller but since he already is perfect, I’ll let it slide! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine says:

    As always, I adore when the two of you write reviews in conjunction with each other! I have read Isla and the Happily Ever After, but not the other two. However I will definitely pick them up soon… xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

    Awesome review, it made me laugh haha. I loved this book even though it frustrated me so much! Why couldn’t they get together sooner!!! Ugh. Can’t wait to see what y’all have to say about the other two books. Etienne and Anna make cameos in the other books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thank you so much, Anjie! 🙂 I KNOW RIGHT. My only complain in this book is I wish they got together in Chapter 3 (okay maybe 5 for a bit of anticipation) I was seriously screaming the whole time for them to get together!!!! I KNOW. Anna is my fav in all of the three books. Honestly, my favorite part in the other books are their cameos. lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anjie @ Love thy Shelf says:

        YES!!! Haha Oh my favorite is their cameo in the third book 😉 hahaha but my favorite out of the three books is Isla because I could relate so much to Isla — especially the whole blank canvas thing! But all three were so cute!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

