Erika’s POV: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

23149128

Title: Extraordinary Means

Author: Robyn Schneider

Series: Standalone

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Format: Published May 26th 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books

Source: Own copy, bought in Powerbooks

“Because if the past year had made me certain of one thing, it was that love stories at Latham all ended the same way: with someone left behind.”

The Summary:

From the author of The Beginning of Everything: two teens with a deadly disease fall in love on the brink of a cure.

At seventeen, overachieving Lane finds himself at Latham House, a sanatorium for teens suffering from an incurable strain of tuberculosis. Part hospital and part boarding school, Latham is a place of endless rules and confusing rituals, where it’s easier to fail breakfast than it is to flunk French.

There, Lane encounters a girl he knew years ago. Instead of the shy loner he remembers, Sadie has transformed. At Latham, she is sarcastic, fearless, and utterly compelling. Her friends, a group of eccentric troublemakers, fascinate Lane, who has never stepped out of bounds his whole life. And as he gradually becomes one of them, Sadie shows him their secrets: how to steal internet, how to sneak into town, and how to disable the med sensors they must wear at all times.

But there are consequences to having secrets, particularly at Latham House. And as Lane and Sadie begin to fall in love and their group begins to fall sicker, their insular world threatens to come crashing down.

Told in alternating points of view, Extraordinary Means is a darkly funny story about doomed friendships, first love, and the rare miracle of second chances

My Thoughts:

Before I started this book, there have been warnings.

1. Prepare yourself

2. Tearjerker

3. TFIOS but waaaaaay better

But no matter how many times you’ve been warned, you still get unexpectedly hit by a wave of emotions you know would happen but it doesn’t hurt any less.

Extraordinary Means is about Lane and Sadie, two teens with incurable TB. The not so funny thing about this is while I was reading, I had a bad case of cough too. So when Lane or Sadie or anyone went *cough* *cough*, I would go *cough* *cough* SCARY.

So they start out with this BIG misunderstanding, Sadie and Lane have known each other since they were 13 in a summer camp. And when your 13, puberty still not hitting, you may not look your best so Sadie was kind of bullied. So there was this “Go to the dance with me. -L” “I changed my mind” kind of happening. Sadie ends up bringing her hatred for Lane throughout her whole life. It’s kind of sad though that the whole time you think someone did something but really didn’t. You kind of waste years of your life just loathing.

They meet again in the Latham house which is a place secluded so they can all get better. They fall in love. They have a very cutesy relationship no hardcore lust and epic dramas. The type where you’d smile while reading.

“Your heart rate’s a little high tonight, honey,” she said

They would sneak kisses. Don’t you just love reading books where they *sneak* kisses? It makes it so much more romantic.

“You’re going to set off my med sensor,” I teased

They would hide under their covers every night and talk on the phone. It was so old school, I loved it! People in Latham had no internet access because this could add to the stresses in their life. Imagine that? No internet. Can you do that? Maybe before I could but now… I don’t think so.

Sadie is not your conventional girl. She loves breaking the rules and the feel of actually being popular. Her old life isn’t the best and Latham changes that so the moment there was a mention of a cure, she doesn’t know how to feel about it. She’s happy but sad too.

On the opposite end, Lane is your typical nerd who just likes to study study oh wait, did I mention study? He’s very focused on his future that he misses out on the present. The remedy? Sadie. Sadie introduces him to a world where living in the present is also necessary.

I’m holding the book and its like less than 50 pages till the end so I’m like “Yeeees, lets go happy ending” and then BAM Michael is born and maybe 30 years later ruins my life by being at the said place and time. I put the blame on Michael. I hate him. He’s evil. I mean some people don’t know they have TB until they’re diagnosed so why did you do that?! So wrooooooooooong *goes hysterical*

“That life is gathering the raw materials, and when we die, we get to make patterns out of our lives and relive them in whatever order we want. That way I can spend forever repeating the days when I was really happy, and never have to experience any of the sad days. So that’s how you live a really great life. You make sure you have enough good days that you want to go back to.”

Such a great theory right?

Yes, this book is definitely a love story but it still hurts. The ending broke my heart and Robyn told me I could take it but I can’t. It’s unfair. Definitely gave the TFIOS feels. So if you’re a fan of John Green, I would absolutely recommend Robyn’s books!

Last note: Sadie your extra extraordinary.

Happy reading!!!

image

5 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

  1. Danni Mae says:

    I loved TFIOS! I cried at A’s fake funeral (but not his real one, oddly enough) and it’d be great (and also horribly sad) to read something like that again! I’ve never heard of this one, either. It’s good to know a book with a similar feel to one you like!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

