Erika’s POV: Stolen by Lucy Christopher

0-545-17094-X

Title: Stolen

Author: Lucy Christopher

Series: Standalone

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mystery

Format: Published April 1st 2012 by Chicken House

Source: Own copy, bought in Fully Booked

“You saw me before I saw you. In the airport, that day in August, you had that look in your eyes, as though you wanted something from me, as though you’d wanted it for a long time.”

My Summary:

This is my letter to Ty. To my captor. This is not just my story but ours.

16 yr. old Gemma was kidnapped from a Bangkok airport to an unmapped desert somewhere in Australia. Ty is not your typical kidnapper. He is actually goodlooking, toned and eyes like the ocean you can stare at all day. Why did he do that you ask.. because he loves her. He wants to protect her.

All she ever wanted was to get away from him… but once she gets to know him, her heart tells her otherwise.

My Thoughts:

Just the topic of Stockholm Syndrome or anything about psychology in that aspect gets me really interested. So once I was recommended this book and read the plot. I just had to read it. I also loved the simplicity of the cover. As I flipped through each page, I couldn’t stop. It felt like a surge of energy getting stronger and stronger until finally you explode. That’s what reading this book felt like to me.

This book has kept me thinking and pondering on my emotions for the next hours after I’ve finished reading it. It’s like I don’t know what to feel. Gemma is this girl kidnapped by Ty which is really really creepy. He brings her to this desert which is unmapped. When you see him, you will never think he would be able to do what he did. He had this endearing blue eyes that made you want to trust him. The moment Ty tells her the reason why she stole her… my world goes crashing down.

When I started reading this, I was so freaked out by Ty. It seemed to me that he really really loves her which makes me question WHY? Do they have a past or something cause Gemma did say that he looks oddly familiar.

“I’d seen you before … somewhere…. But who were you? My eyes kept flitting back to your face.”

The most mind boggling thing about it was that Ty made sure nothing bad happened to Gemma. He left her alone and didn’t take advantage of her. He was kind to her which made me more annoyed cause I didn’t know what to feel anymore. From thinking he’s a creepy stalker to a caring dude. I FEEL LIKE I’M GOING CRAZY. I keep telling myself that he is insane. He freaking kidnapped a person and built a house in the middle of nowhere. The scary and wonderful part of this is his preparation. He prepared for this moment for years. YEARS. Which confused the hell out of me even more.

This book was written in a unique way— as a letter. You could really feel how Gemma felt all through out. You will get to know Ty too.

“And its hard to hate someone once you understand them”

It’s definitely Stockholm Syndrome in such a different level. WOW is all I can say. This book will leave you aching and wanting more. It’s like you don’t know who to trust anymore. Which is reality which isn’t…

Happy reading!!!

Leave a Reply

