Erika’s POV: Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

8580362

Title: Forbidden

Author: Tabitha Suzuma

Series: Standalone

Genre: NA, Contemporary, Romance

Format: Published June 26th 2012 by Simon Pulse

Source: Own copy, bought in Fully Booked

“You can close your eyes to the things you do not want to see, but you cannot close your heart to the things you do not want to feel.”

My Summary:

With an unreliable, alcoholic mother, Lochan and Maya have no choice but to take care of their three younger siblings.

They may be brother and sister but they have always felt more that that. They are each others best friend— soul mate. No one understands them but each other. So much so that they have fallen in love.

They know it’s wrong. But the only question on their mind is…

How could something so wrong feel so right?

My Thoughts:

Honestly, I would have never read this book on my own accord because I don’t like concepts such as incest. It totally freaks me out! But a friend of mine recommended this book and told me that it isn’t what I would think and that it’s so beautiful that it will wreck me. You know, stuff like that that will make you want to read a book. I trust my friend’s judgment so I gave this book a go. One thing I have to say… SHE WAS FREAKING RIGHT!

“Family: the most important thing of all. My siblings may drive me crazy at times but they are my blood. They’re all I’ve known. My family is me. They are my life. Without them I walk the planet alone.”

Lochan is this socially inept weirdo. He can’t seem to talk to any one except his family. He has a habit of chewing his lip when his nervous. Everything about him is endearing. His shyness makes him so much more swoon worthy. He likes to shove his face in a book. If I were in their school, I would totally approach him and try to make him talk to me. He is extremely smart. It seems to me that his qualities make him sexy and he is absolutely attractive! Like Ashton Kutcher said, “Smart is the new sexy.” Gosh. Lochie. I just want to hug you and comfort you all the time.

Maya’s not like Lochan. She has friends but it seems that she really has this connection with Lochan. Even when other guys like her cause she’s pretty, she doesn’t feel anything. Other H-O-T guys like her but she just doesn’t want. The heart wants what the heart wants I guess.

“At the end of the day it’s about how much you can bear, how much you can endure. Being together, we harm nobody; being apart, we extinguish ourselves.”

Lochan and Maya’s relationship leaves me feeling absolutely crazy. The whole time I was just waiting for something to happen. It was driving me insane. I’m like, “Go, go, go.” but my conscience is saying, “No, no, no.” There is a constant battle between my mind and heart. It’s just their connection is intense as hell. The whole time I was just so scared that they would get caught… OH. DEAR. LORD. I need help.

We all know that incest is wrong. No matter what the excuse is. It’s wrong but while reading this it’s like you want it to be okay. You just want the word taboo to cease to exist. I want there to be a twist that they’re not actually siblings and stuff like that. They’re perfect for each other. But you don’t always get what you want…

Can you imagine raising kids when you’re a kid yourself?? Lochan and Maya are raising a 5, 6 and a 13 yr. old and their just 16 and 17. It’s crazy. It’s unfair. I want to say that if you’re not ready to have children please don’t have them! Look at their mom. An alcoholic who can’t move on from her past. All Maya and Lochie ever wanted was that their family stay together. That the social services not take them….

I think that the reason Maya and Lochan fell in love was that they couldn’t find love in others and they weren’t taught better. It’s wrong what they did. But is it jail worthy wrong?? I don’t think so. I don’t think they should go to jail because it was consensual but if it was rape… THAT’S AN ABSOLUTELY DIFFERENT STORY. I would want them to be put to death row. But for this, I would rather they went to a hospital/psychologist. I don’t think jail will help this case at all.

“I mean, at the end of the day, what the hell does it matter who I end up with if it can’t be you?”

No amount of expletives can seriously express how I feel about this book. I was speechless after I read it. Wide-mouthed, open-eyed, SPEECHLESS. I didn’t expect that ending. THE. ENDING. It nearly killed me. The shock factor was really really extreme.

No matter how right something feels, it doesn’t always mean it’s right. We just have to accept the fact that there will always be things that feel so right but is absolutely wrong. A book that will make you ponder on it forever. If you’re planning to read this, prepare yourself. You’re in for an emotional turmoil.

Happy reading!!

image

Note: Not for younger readers.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

  1. Lina says:

    THIS. BOOK. Trying to describe this book to others is nearly impossible, but it sounds like your friend must have done it right! It’s just so beautiful and haunting, powerful and emotional. I cried so much *sniff* I think it’s really hard to base a view of incest off this book because their case was so unique (feeling like they were the caretakers of a family), but for sure it taught me to be less judgmental. And honestly, they weren’t hurting anyone — they were hurting themselves by trying not to be together, even if it doesn’t seem right. They didn’t deserve THAT ENDING.

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Yup, my friend likes things like this. lol You just did an absolutely great job in describing the book! 🙂 I’m so happy I gave this book a chance. I hope people don’t judge it just because of incest but the story is really heartbreaking and beautiful. I KNOW RIGHT. that ending shocked me so much I didn’t know how to react. I do wish it happened differently but at the same time could they still be together if it didn’t? Thoughts like this haunt me…. huhuhuhuhu

      Like

Leave a Reply

