Erika’s POV: Everyday by David Leviathan

17451795

Title: Every Day

Author: David Levithan

Series: Every Day #1

Genre: Contemporary, YA, Romance, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBT

Format: Published August 28th 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Source: Own copy, bought in Fully Booked

“I didn’t mean to do it. I didn’t mean to fall in love with you. But it happened. And I can’t erase it. I can’t ignore it.”

My Summary:

Can you imagine waking up in a different body every single day??

For A he doesn’t just imagine it, he lives it. A wakes up in a different body every day without warning. A knows what not to do. Don’t interfere with anyone’s life. Don’t get attached. Don’t get noticed.

But that all changes, the moment A meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. A can’t fall in love. He knows that but he’s never felt like this about anyone before. Now that he finally has a reason to stay… Can love truly conquer all?

My Thoughts:

Buying Every Day was an impulse for me. When my friend saw this cover and showed it to me, I fell in love with it. After I read the synopsis, I couldn’t let the book go. This book was also recommended by my sister and friends so I knew I had to read it.

“Kindness connects to who you are, while niceness connects to how you want to be seen.”

Oh, how this book changed my life! This book made me realize how many stories people have. Each and everyone of us lead different lives and because A gets to live a different life every day, he gets to experience it. Though he doesn’t have stories of his own, he has other stories to tell. I think that that’s both wonderful and sad.

I can’t imagine how A does it. The concept is just amazing. Being yourself is already hard, but if you have to be a different person every day?! that’s just insane.

A already lives a life of no attachment but then A meets Rhiannon. OH, GOD. I love Rhiannon. She is really kind and just so herself. I hate it that she’s with Justin though. Justin is very douchy. I don’t like him one bit but because she has a fear of change, Rhiannon just can’t seem to let him go… but that all changes one day— when A is Justin.

“This is what love does: It makes you want to rewrite the world. It makes you want to choose the characters, build the scenery, guide the plot.”

A and Rhiannon’s relationship is VERY complicated. Okay, complicated is an understatement. I should say impossible but I was a believer. Even with the complications, I was rooting for them. They are just two pieces of adorable. I love how A and her made each other better. The way A loved her, it felt so tangible while I was reading it. It just made my heart swell.

“I have no such consolation. This is why I cling so hard. This is why this is so hard.”

This book made me wonder, learn and it broke my heart… I felt weak after I read it. I was telling my mom that I didn’t want to leave the house cause I just wanted to think about it. It made me just a little bit crazy… I could honestly say this book touched me. It is beautiful. My very first David Levithan book and I absolutely adore it. I would recommend this book to everyone! Go and read it. I know you would want to be part of A and Rhiannon’s love story!

PS: Another Day which is Every Day book 2 is almost out! Can’t wait to read that.

Highly recommended!

Happy reading!!!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “Erika’s POV: Everyday by David Leviathan

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Inaaaaaah!! Thanks so much! YOU HAVE TO READ THIS OR WE’RE NOT FRIENDS ANYMORE. lol Please read this. Your heart will break but that’s a good thing. Have you read any other book of David’s?

      Like

  1. Francis Alvarez says:

    Hi!!! I also love this book. The plot is very unique and I can’t imagine how you can enter different person’s lives every day. It’s one of my favorite reads this year and I’m looking forward to Rhiannon’s POV for Another Day.

    Like

    • partnersinbooks says:

      I KNOW RIGHT. When I heard about Rhiannon’s POV, I fangirled so hard. I’m hoping there’s a chapter after the ending of Every Day though. I hope it doesn’t exactly end at the same part cause my heart…. August is near soooo YAY!

      Like

  2. Helen says:

    I really want to read this. It seems like an interesting premise. Mary @ books-and-cookies brought this to my attention. Now I have read your review I am going to have to acquire and read ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Please do!!! I’m excited to break your heart (okay, that did not sound right) lol Can’t wait to hear your thoughts. ❤️ of course, Mary always gives amazing book recs. We should definitely listen 😉

      Like

  3. Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard says:

    This is by far one of my favorite books in 2015. I love David Levithan and his writing style. He really knows where to hit right in the feels. This is definitely a rereading material. I love your review on this one. I can totally relate. 🙂 Although “Another Day” tackles the same story in Rhiannon’s POV, I’m still looking forward to reading his next book. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • partnersinbooks says:

      Thank you so much. 🙂 Right?! I’ve been wanting to read other books of his though, just don’t know where to start! Have you read others?? I did read Nick and Norah. I didn’t like that one. The movie was cute though. I KNOW. Lets talk about the feels once we’ve read Another Day pls!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard says:

        Oh, I haven’t read that book. I read Every you, Every Me though I didn’t like the flow of the story because I was expecting more on the plot however the writing and narration style was so beautiful and touching. It’s a quick read, less than 150 pages I guess. Also try the Lover’s Dictionary, it’s very easy to read and the concept was so witty.

        Liked by 1 person

      • partnersinbooks says:

        I always see Every You, Every Me around. Yeah, it’s really thin. Touching books that will break my heart again? huhuhuhu I have been looking at The Lover’s Dictionary for the longest time! The concept is so nice!!! Okay, will definitely get to that soon. 🙂 Thank you! I also heard Two Boys Kissing is good! Have you heard of that? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard says:

        I’m not that impressed with the story of Every You Every Me, however the narration was so good! As for the Lover’s Dictionary, it was such a fun to read. Levithan is undeniably a great writer. Just let me know if you have read any of his books. I would be very glad to read your reviews, Erika & Miedjel! 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

